Learn from the best in bluegrass! Whether you’re starting from scratch or just looking to add a few licks to your repertoire, you’ll find the help you want here.
 
Jump to: Banjo | Bass | Fiddle | Guitar | Mandolin | Resophonic Guitar | Voice
 
To submit an instructor listing, email info@dcbu.org.

 
 

Banjo – Maryland

Mark Delaney – 410-458-3850 – markbanjo@gmail.comwww.markdelaney.net – Odenton, MD

Ira Gitlin – 301-801-0346 – iragitlin3@aol.comwww.iragitlin.com – Takoma Park, MD

Paul Houck – 301-473-7584 – bubby827@comcast.net – Jefferson, MD

Brad Kolodnerbradkolodner@gmail.comwww.bradkolodner.com – clawhammer banjo – Baltimore, MD

Robert Meltz – 301-229-5189 – madnrob@comcast.net – Bethesda, MD

Rickie Simpkins – 606-521-6759 – rickiesimpkins5@gmail.com – Upper Marlboro, MD

Orrin Star – 301-773-6149 – orrin@orrinstar.com – Cheverly, MD

 

Banjo – Pennsylvania

Tom Adams – 717-259-6502 – adams.tom@comcast.netwww.adamscountybanjo.com – East Berlin, PA, online lessons via Skype

Mike Munford – 717-235-4058 – Glen Rock, PA

 

Banjo – Virginia

Randy Barrett – 703-405-6230 – mrbarretone@gmail.com – Falls Church, VA

Gina Clowes – 540-671-9828 – gina.j.clowes@gmail.com – Winchester, VA, online lessons via Skype

Don Depoy – 207-323-4800 – depoyd@hotmail.commeandmartha.info – Harrisonburg, VA

Bruce Gair – 703-407-2327 – wbgair@gmail.com – Haymarket, Gainesville, Manassas area of VA

Ira Gitlin – 301-801-0346 – iragitlin3@aol.comwww.iragitlin.com – Alexandria, VA

Casey Henry – 615-513-8620 – gibsontb11@gmail.comwww.caseyhenry.net – Winchester, VA

Murphy Henry – 540-877-2357 – www.murphymethod.com – Winchester, Va

Mark Maggiolo – 540-364-3034 – markmaggiolo1@wildblue.net – Markham, Warrenton, Middleburg, Culpeper, VA

Dick Neff – 703-938-2546 – aneff19@verizon.net – Fairfax, VA, clawhammer and bluegrass banjo

 

Banjo – Washington, DC

Bryan Lesswing – 630-518-5524 – banjobry@gmail.comhttps://bryanlesswing.wordpress.com/lessons/ – Washington, DC

 
 

Bass – Maryland

Barb Diederich – 301-633-2504 – barb@barbdiederich.com –┬áRockville, MD

Ira Gitlin – 301-801-0346 – iragitlin3@aol.comwww.iragitlin.com – Takoma Park, MD

Ed Schaeffer – 301-476-7934 – soundprayer@verizon.net – Silver Spring and Olney, MD

 

Bass – Virginia

Don Depoy – 207-323-4800 – depoyd@hotmail.commeandmartha.info – Harrisonburg, VA

Ira Gitlin – 301-801-0346 – iragitlin3@aol.comwww.iragitlin.com – Alexandria, VA

Mark Maggiolo – 540-364-3034 – markmaggiolo1@wildblue.net – Markham, Warrenton, Middleburg, and Culpeper, VA

Marshall Wilbornmwilborn08@comcast.net – Winchester, VA

 
 

Fiddle – Maryland

Jack Leiderman – 301-279-2158 – jackleiderman@yahoo.com – Rockville, MD

Alexander Mitchell – 240-344-7806 – fiddlemuse@yahoo.com – Frederick, MD

Rickie Simpkins – 606-521-6759 – rickiesimpkins5@gmail.com – Upper Marlboro, MD

 

Fiddle – Virginia

Randy Barrett – 703-405-6230 – mrbarretone@gmail.com – Falls Church, VA

Murphy Henry – 540-877-2357 – www.murphymethod.com – Winchester, Va

Mark Maggiolo – 540-364-3034 – markmaggiolo1@wildblue.net – Markham, Warrenton, Middleburg, Culpeper, VA

 

Fiddle – West Virginia

Alexander Mitchell – 240-344-7806 – fiddlemuse@yahoo.com – WV

 
 

Guitar – Maryland

Tom Espinola – 301-652-3265 – tespinola@musician.orgwww.tomespinola.com – Chevy Chase/Takoma Park, MD

Ira Gitlin – 301-801-0346 – iragitlin3@aol.comwww.iragitlin.com – Takoma Park, MD

Ed Schaeffer – 301-476-7934 – soundprayer@verizon.net – Silver Spring, Olney, Md

Avril Smith – 202-285-8761 – smith.avril@gmail.comwww.avrilsmith.com – Takoma Park, MD

Orrin Star – 301-773-6149 – orrin@orrinstar.com – Cheverly, MD

 

Guitar – Virginia

Rosser Clark – 703-593-0700 – rosserclark@gmail.com – Falls Church, VA

Don Depoy – 207-323-4800 – depoyd@hotmail.commeandmartha.info – Harrisonburg, VA

Ira Gitlin – 301-801-0346 – iragitlin3@aol.comwww.iragitlin.com – Alexandria, VA

Murphy Henry – 540-877-2357 – www.murphymethod.com – Winchester, VA

Dirk Johnson – 540-877-2357 – djohnson@roiwebsites.com, (h) 703-406-4698, or http://novaguitarlessons.com – Northern Virginia

Tara Linhardt – 703-999-8695 – taraworlds@gmail.comwww.taralinhardt.com – Waterford, VA, online lessons via Skype

Mark Maggiolo – 540-364-3034 – markmaggiolo1@wildblue.net – Markham, Warrenton, Middleburg, Culpeper, VA

 

Guitar – Washington, DC

Bryan Lesswing – 630-518-5524 – banjobry@gmail.comhttps://bryanlesswing.wordpress.com/lessons/ – Washington, DC

 
 

Mandolin – Maryland

Tom Espinola – 301-652-3265 – tespinola@musician.orgwww.tomespinola.com – Chevy Chase/Takoma Park, MD

Jack Leiderman – 301-279-2158 – jackleiderman@yahoo.com – Rockville, MD

Alexander Mitchell – 240-344-7806 – fiddlemuse@yahoo.com – Frederick, MD

Rickie Simpkins – 606-521-6759 – rickiesimpkins5@gmail.com – Upper Marlboro, MD

Avril Smith – 202-285-8761 – smith.avril@gmail.comwww.avrilsmith.com – Takoma Park, MD

Orrin Star – 301-773-6149 – orrin@orrinstar.com – Cheverly, MD

 

Mandolin – Virginia

Tara Linhardt – 703-999-8695 – taraworlds@gmail.comwww.taralinhardt.com – Waterford, VA, online lessons via Skype

Mark Maggiolo – 540-364-3034 – markmaggiolo1@wildblue.net – Markham, Warrenton, Middleburg, Culpeper, VA

 

Mandolin – West Virginia

Alexander Mitchell – 240-344-7806 – fiddlemuse@yahoo.com – WV

 
 

Resophonic Guitar – Maryland

Mark Baker – 301-502-4990 – rezzocat@icloud.com – Olney, MD

 

Resophonic Guitar – Virginia

Mark Maggiolo – 540-364-3034 – markmaggiolo1@wildblue.net – Markham, Warrenton, Middleburg, Culpeper, VA

Alex Sens – 703-346-3614 – sensa@georgetown.edu – Arlington, VA

 
 

Voice

Dede Wyland – 240-603-4714 – www.dedewyland.com – Silver Spring, MD – website includes access to Video School of Voice